Congratulations West Clemont and Dublin Jerome for earning “The Bruce Brown Award of Excellence” 

In 2023 Ohio high school athletic departments were selected to receive the Annual Award of Excellence. The award, a collaboration between the Ohio High School Athletic Association (OHSAA) and the Ohio Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (OIAAA) recognizes schools that provide exemplary support and promotion of education-based athletic programming in their school and community. 

 These awards were presented at the boys state basketball tournament in Dayton this year. This was our former Executive Director Bruce Brown’s award that he created and with the help of the OHSAA.  The award is named after Bruce Brown,  in honor of the man who created it and to remember the first Executive Director of the OIAAA. 

Recipients of this year’s award are West Clermont High School and Dublin Jerome High School.

The focus of the award is to recognize on-going and consistent efforts on the part of Ohio interscholastic athletic departments that demonstrate best practice in the endorsement and promotion of school-based athletic programming. Specifically, this award recognizes schools that demonstrate intentional efforts to exemplify the mission and culture of educational-based athletic programs as an on-going process. 

Doug Ute, Executive Director and Glen Gillespie, Executive Director of the OIAAA issued the following joint statement on the presentation of the award:    “Ohio Interscholastic athletic programs have always been considered some of the most exemplary programs in the country in reflecting the value our schools and communities place upon education-based sports. The recipients of the ‘Bruce Brown Award of Excellence‘ have demonstrated a consistent and well-developed plan to keep focus of their sport programs upon delivering life-long skills for all participants and mirroring the educational mission of their respective institutions.”


The OHSAA and the OIAAA believe there are several benchmarks which identify quality educational based athletic programs: 

School athletic programs are inherently educational

School athletic programs compliment the educational experience 

School athletic programs enhance the educational mission of the school

School athletic programs serve as an extension of the academic classroom 

School athletic programs teach life lessons not regularly available in the academic classrooms

School athletic programs have courts, fields, tracks, pools and courses as teaching classrooms 

For additional details on the “Award of Excellence” criteria, go to the OIAAA website

April and May 2023 OHSAA Athletic Discussion Meetings

The 2023 Ohio High School Athletic Association Athletic Discussion Meetings have been finalized with the dates and locations for the six meetings listed below. OHSAA Director of Compliance Kristin Ronai will review the 2023 referendum issues and Executive Director Doug Ute will discuss topics of current interest to administrators involved with or interested in the school’s interscholastic athletics program. Meetings will last no more than two hours, and there is no cost to attend.

The meetings are intended for superintendents, high school principals, high school athletic administrators, 7th-8th grade principals, city supervisors and board presidents. Attendance by at least one school administrator is highly encouraged.

Member schools are permitted to register a maximum of four school administrators for the OHSAA Athletic Discussion Meetings. We have asked all other school administrators to coordinate their registration efforts through you, the high school athletic administrator. The link to the registration form is as follows:

An email will be returned to you to indicate that your registration has been received.

Here are the sites and dates for the 2023 OHSAA Athletic Discussion Meetings:

Westerville Meeting

Monday, April 17– 10:00 a.m.

Quest Conference Center

9200 Worthington Rd., Suite 400

Westerville, OH  43082


Athens Meeting

Wednesday, April 18 – 10:00 a.m.       

Ohio University Inn and Conference Center

331 Richland Ave.

Athens, OH  45701


Streetsboro Meeting

Tuesday, April 25 – 10:30 a.m.

Streetsboro High School Auditorium

8585 State Route 14

Streetsboro, OH  44241


Cambridge Meeting

Thursday, April 27 – 1:30 p.m.

Pritchard Laughlin Civic Center

7033 Glenn Highway

Cambridge, OH  43725

Clayton Meeting

Friday, April 28 – 10:00 a.m.

Northmont Community Auditorium

4916 W. National Road

Clayton, OH  45315

Special Note:

Enter Door 2, Northwest Side of School


Tiffin Meeting

Monday, May 1 – 9:00 a.m.

Camden Falls Reception & Conference Center

2640 S. State Route 231

Tiffin, OH  44883

Special Note: This meeting is in conjunction with

the NWDAB Administrators Meeting. The NWDAB

portion of the meeting and special awards will begin

at 9:00, with the OHSAA presentation to begin at

approximately 10:00. Lunch will also be provided.

NIAAA/OIAAA: Professional Development Opportunity

News Release
NIAAA/OIAAA: Professional Development Opportunity
Quality Program Award (QPA), National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA)
Ohio Athletic Administrators that are interested in pursuing the distinguished NIAAA

Quality Program Award are invited to attend one of two virtual informational meetings
conducted by:
Randy Tevepaugh, CMAA, NIAAA QPA Mentor
Don Bales, CMAA, NIAAA QPA Coordinator

The virtual meetings will be conducted on Wednesday, February 8th at 9:00 a.m. and
Sunday, February 24th at 7:30 p.m. Those administrators interested in participating
should contact Randy Tevepaugh at An email notification will be sent prior to the meeting
time(s) detailing pertinent information regarding participation.

The Bruce Brown Award of Excellence will be awarded to those administrators and
school districts achieving this level of Professional Development from the OIAAA.

Additionally, a national recognition will be made at the National Athletic Directors Conference in December of each year.

Past Bruce Brown Award Winners

Year School Athletic Director
2015 Gilmour Academy Jeff Walrich
Worthington Kilbourne Jeff Todd
Ottawa Hills Tim Erickson
Streetsboro Randy Tevepaugh
2016 Wyoming Jan Wilking
2017 Anderson Kyle Bing
Brush Mike Murphy
Mason Scott Stemple
2018 Hilliard Darby Chris Ludban
Proctorville Fairland Jeff Gorby
Galion Kyle Baugh
Marietta Rick Guimond
Rocky River Mark Wagner
St. Joseph Academy John Manuszak
Sycamore Phil Poggi
2019 Findlay Nate Weihrauch
Loveland Brian Conaster
Woodridge Nick Mayer
2020 No Winners Covid
2021 Turpin Tony Hemmelgarn
Brunswick John Justice
Streetsboro Randy Tevepaugh
Shenandoah Eric Scholtis
Plymouth Josh Calame
Fort Frye Barb Sleek
2022 Madeira Joe Kimling

2022-2023 OHSAA Regional Update Meetings

OHSAA Regional Update Meetings and Virtual Administrator Workshop Upcoming The Ohio High School Athletic Association Executive Director’s Office will be conducting
in-person Regional Update Meetings later this month and in September for school superintendents, principals and athletic administrators in each of the six OHSAA athletic districts.
The meetings are designed to provide updates and reminders on key issues, and attendance is highly recommended.

All meetings will run from 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.,
and staff will be available afterward to answer questions.

The dates and locations are:

Thursday, Aug. 25, Columbus (Quest Conference Center, Westerville)
Tuesday, Sept. 13, Cleveland (DoubleTree by Hilton, Independence)
Tuesday, Aug. 30, Cincinnati (Sharonville Convention Center)
Thursday, Sept. 15, Cambridge (Pritchard Laughlin Civic Center)
Wednesday, Sept. 7, Athens (Ohio University Inn & Conference Center)
Wednesday, Sept. 21, Findlay (Findlay High School Auditorium)
To register, please go here:

For questions, contact the OHSAA Executive Director’s Office at 614-267-2502.